Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library: Home

   Facebook icon

Instagram glyph

The library will close at 5:30 pm Monday - Thursday of this week (May 16 - 19) due to circumstances beyond our control.  Thank you for your patience.

Summer Library Hours

May 16 - August 4: 

Mon - Thurs: 8:00 am - 6:30 pm

(Closed Friday - Sunday)

Quick Links

* The Research Companion has short videos about narrowing a topic, avoiding plagiarism, doing citations, and other writing topics.  It also contains the Revision Aid, which allows you to upload a paper and highlights certain problems in your writing.  Click on Use Information for the Revision Aid.  (For spelling and basic grammar issues, use spellcheck in Word instead.)

Our Mission

Our Mission:  The purpose of the Learning Resources Center (Library) is to support the Philosophy, Mission, and Goals of Martin Community College and to enhance the teaching/learning process through provision of adequate, current resource collections in formats consistent with prevailing technologies; provision of access to the collections of other libraries; provision of instruction in the use of resources to enable patrons to function in an information-driven society; and promotion of life-long learning opportunities.

Book Club

Midnight Library Book Cover

Join our Community Book Club!

Next meeting:  June 15 at 12:00 pm in the MCC Library

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

Books available in the library

 

Search everything available through the library

(opens in new window)

 

OR

Search just the Martin Library shelves using the

 Library Catalog

(you can also expand your search to other community college libraries)

New Books

Book Cover: Book Lovers by Emily Henry
Book Cover: Even the Dog Knows by Jason Wright
Book Cover:  Blood Sugar by Sascha Rothchild
Book Cover: The Maid by Nita Prose
Book Cover:  The Reading List by Sara Nisha Adams
Book Cover:  The Final Case by David Guterson
Book Cover: Hell of a Book by Jason Mott
Book Cover: The President's Daughter by Bill Clinton & James Patterson
Book Cover: The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi
Book Cover: The Evening and the Morning by Ken Follett
Book Cover: The Queen's Fortune by Allison Pataki
Book Cover: Life after Death by Sister Souljah
Book Cover: The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey by Walter Mosley
Book Cover: The Horsewoman by James Patterson
Book Cover:  Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel
Book Cover: Dead on Arrival by Kiki Swinson
Book Cover:  The Coldest Winter Ever by Sister Souljah
Book Cover:  Gangsta by K'wan
Book Cover: Nervous by Zane
Book Cover:  Addicted by Zane
Book Cover: The Romantic Agenda by Claire Kann
Book Cover: Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo
Book Cover: Fevered Star by Rebecca Roanhouse
Book Cover:  Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhouse
Book Cover: Wonder Woman: Dead Earth by Daniel Johnson
Book Cover: Monster: A Graphic Novel by Walter Dean Myers
Book Cover:  Bee Dance by Rick Chrustowski
Book Cover: Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell
Book Cover: Blue Sky White Stars Sarvinder Naberhaus
Book Cover: Blizzard by John Rocco
Book Cover: A Book of Bridges: Here to There and Me to You by Cheryl Keely
Book Cover: North Carolina: A Military History by John Maass & Mark Bradley
Book Cover:  Because of an Acorn by Lola Schaefer
Book Cover:  Humane: How the United States Abandoned Peace and Reinvented War by Samuel Moyn
Book Cover:  Exploring North Carolina's Lookout Towers by Peter Barr
Book Cover: Form Your Own Limited Liability Company, 12th ed. by Anthony Mancuso
Book Cover: Cryptocurrency All-In-One for Dummies by Kiana Danial et al.
Book Cover: Carolina Bays: Wild, Mysterious, and Majestic Landforms by Robert Clark & Tom Poland
Book Cover: How to Draw Stroke-By-Stroke by David Williams
Book Cover: An Ugly Truth: Inside Facebook's Battle for Domination by Sheera Frenkel & Cecilia Kang
Book Cover: Coastal Life of the Atlantic and Gulf Coasts by Erika Zambello
Book Cover: The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home by Jessie Wise & Susan Bauer
Book Cover: 30 Great North Carolina Science Adventures by April Smith
Book Cover: Rogues' Gallery: The Birth of Modern Policing and Organized Crime in Gilded Age New York by John Oller
Book Cover: Shutdown: How COVID Shook the World's Economy by Adam Tooze
Book Cover: Better, Not Bitter: Living on Purpose in the Pursuit of Racial Justice by Yusef Salaam
Book Cover: Carolina Haints: Ghosts, Folklore, and Mysteries of the Old North State by Dan Sellers & Jeffrey Cochran
Book Cover: Great Day Hikes on North Carolina's Mountains-To-Sea Trail by Jim Grode
Book Cover: Sweet Carolina: Favorite Desserts and Candies from the Old North State by Foy Allen Edelman
Book Cover:  Make a TikTok Every Day: 365 Prompts for Attention-Grabbing TikToks by Dave Jorgenson
Book Cover: Capitalism and Slavery, 3rd ed. by Eric Williams
Book Cover: Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of America by Gerald Posner
Book Cover: The Woman They Could Not Silence by Kate Moore
Book Cover: Understanding Gender Dysphoria by Tammy Gagne
Book Cover:  200 Years of American Financial Panics: Crashes, Recessions, Depressions, and the Technology that will Change it All by Thomas Vartanian
Book Cover: Southeast Medicinal Plants: Identify, Harvest, and Use 106 Wild Herbs for Health and Wellness by Coreyshane Pine
Book Cover: Good Boy: My Life in Seven Dogs by Jennifer Boylan
Book Cover: 50 Hikes in the Carolina Mountains by Johnny Molloy
Book Cover: Stocks and Bonds by Todd Knoop
Book Cover:  You Don't Know Us Negroes and Other Essays by Zora Neal Hurston
Book Cover: Origin: A Genetic History of the Americas by Jennifer Raff
Book Cover: Eight Days at Yalta: How Churchill, Roosevelt, and Stalin Shaped the Post-war World by Diana Preston
Book Cover:  A Speaker's Guidebook: Text and Reference, 7th ed. by Dan O'Hair; Rob Stewart & Hannah Rubenstein
Book Cover:  Unmasking Autism: Discovering the New Faces of Neurodiversity by DeVon Price
Book Cover: The Rage of Innocence: How America Criminalizes Black Youth by Kristin Henning
Book Cover: The Mindful College Student: How to Succeed, Boost Well-Being & Build the Life You Want at University & Beyond by Eric Loucks
Book Cover: Just Pursuit: A Black Prosecutor's Fight for Fairness by Laura Coates
Book Cover: Torn Apart: How the Child Welfare System Destroys Black Families - and How Abolition can Build a Safer World by Dorothy Roberts
Book Cover: Fire and Flood: A People's History of Climate Change from 1979 to the Present by Eugene Linden
Book Cover: Small Engines and Outdoor Power Equipment 2nd ed.
Book Cover: The Embattled Vote in America by Allan Lichtman
Book Cover: How to Write It, 3rd Edition by Sandra Lamb
Book Cover: The 1619 Project by Nikole Hannah-Jones
Book Cover: Copyright for Schools, 6th ed. by Carol Simpson & Sara Wolf
Book Cover: Modern Sports Around the World by David Schwartz
Book Cover: Whispers of the Gods: Tales from Baseball's Golden Age Told by the Men who Played It by Peter Golenbock
Book Cover:  CCNA 200-301 Official Cert Guide (2 vols.) by Wendell Odom
Book Cover: Vanguard: How Black Women Broke Barriers, Won the Vote, and Insisted on Equality for All by Martha Jones
Book Cover: WordPress for Dummies by Lisa Sabin-Wilson
Book Cover: HTML, CSS, and JavaScript All in One by Julie Meloni & Jennifer Kyrnin
Book Cover: Principles of Health: Depression by Salem Press
Book Cover: CCNA Cyber Ops SECFND #210-250 Official Cert Guide by Omar Santos, Joseph Muniz, & Stefano De Crescenzo
Book Cover:  Aging by Salem Press
Book Cover: Integrative, Alternative & Complementary Medicine by Salem Press
Book Cover:  Principles of Health: Allergies and Immune Disorders by Salem Press
Book Cover: Principles of Health: Anxiety and Stress by Salem Press
Book Cover:  Principles of Health: Pain Management by Salem Press
Book Cover:  The Autoimmune Solution by Amy Myers
Book Cover: Freedom's Detective: The Secret Service, the Ku Klux Klan and the Man Who Masterminded America's First War on Terror by Charles Lane
Book Cover: Epilepsy by Simon Pierce

Chat is now available:

After-hours Chat is available:

Monday - Friday: 5:00 pm to 8:00 am

Saturday & Sunday 8 am - midnight

Get help from a librarian with finding journal articles and ebooks, creating citations and other research needs.

Library Collections and Services

The MCC Library serves the student body, faculty, and staff of the college and the citizens of Martin, Washington and Bertie counties. Twenty-three public access computers are available for library visitors. 

Collections in the Library include over 15,500 books and about 2,000 audiovisual items, primarily audio books and DVDs. Special collections include:

  • Microfilm copies of the local newspaper, The Enterprise (1901-present), as well as microfilm copies of census and court records for Martin County and adjoining counties.  The paper is also digitized through 1942 (missing 1916 and 1920) and accessible on our Local History Room web page.
  • Local History Room, including the Easter Rogerson Mizell Family Collection of genealogy
  • The College Archives

Online sources include:

  • NC LIVE, which provides online access to complete articles from thousands of newspapers, journals, and magazines, several collections of ebooks, audiobooks that can be downloaded to your smart phone or tablet, and images and videos.
  • Gale databases, a collection of 53 databases covering a variety of subjects and containing journal articles, newspaper and magazine articles, ebooks and more.
  • Credo Reference, a collection of over 800 electronic specialized encyclopedias and other reference books
 

 

Read the Book that Inspired the Movie!

Just in time for summer break!  Stop by the library to see our display of books and the movies they inspired.  Check one out for summer reading or viewing.

Read the book that inspired the movie display

Get Help from the Library

  • Visit us in Building 2 during library hours
  • Call us during library hours at: 252-789-0238
  • E-mail us at: library@martincc.edu (We try to respond within 2 hours when the library is open.)
  • Video chat with an MCC librarian during library hours. Call or e-mail us for an appointment.  We can usually help you right away.
  • Use the chat box in the middle of this page after hours.  (Chat is available Mon. - Fri. 5 pm to 8 am & Sat. and Sun. 8 am to midnight.)

Student Study Rooms

seven abstract cartoon figures seated around a tableNeed a quiet place to study or a place to meet for a group project?  Our student study rooms in the library are equipped with a computer with Internet access, Microsoft Office, and printing capability.  Stop by or call the library to sign up.  (Also available for faculty use.)

Assistive Devices in the Library

JAWS screen reader software is available in Study Room 1 in the library, and a Zoomtext Text Reader is available across the hall from the library in the Learning Lab.