Skip to main content

Early Childhood Education Resources: Home

Early Childhood Education Mission

The mission of the Early Childhood Education department is to prepare students for a career in early childhood education by the time they graduate by educating them in all areas of child development.

For more information about the program, see: https://www.martincc.edu/sites/default/files/collegecatalogs/catalog2019-2021.pdf      (page 85)

Find Journal Articles Online

Use the search box below to access journal articles by searching all library resources and limiting to journal articles on the left side of your search results.  Or you can choose the links below to search just our Education databases.  Scroll down this column for a video tutorial on searching databases and limiting results.

Education Databases

A database is a collection of items stored electronically.  The two education databases below contain over two thousand full text, education-related journals and hundreds of thousands of articles.  Films on Demand contains videos on many topics, including early childhood education topics.

Education Journals

Young Children, the Journal of the National Association for the Education of Young Children, is a great source for articles.  Below is the direct link to this journal online.

Tutorial: Searching the Library

Your password for off campus use of any of Martin's electronic resources is your BlackBoard login.

Find eBooks

eBooks can be opened and read on your computer, tablet or phone.  Some are also downloadable to iphone or Android phones or the Kindle by downloading an app.

Library Catalog (Print Books)

The library has a large collection of print books covering early childhood topics, as well as a collection of picture books for students to use in planning story time programs.  If you live in the area, you are welcome to use our facilities even though your class is online.  If you live in Bertie County, you can pick up and drop off library books at our Bertie Campus.  Students outside of Martin and Bertie counties can receive library books by mail.  To request a book be sent to Bertie Campus or by mail to another county, please use the library help e-mail.  See the tutorial below for help in looking up books.

Picture Books

Use our Picture Book Subject Guide for help in planning story time programs.  The guide provides a list of books in the Martin CC Library on topics such as opposites, colors, numbers, etc.  You can check books out from our library or your local public library.  We also have the book A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books, 9th ed, which provides more and longer lists of picture book subjects.

Library Catalog Tutorial

Get Help from the Library

  • Visit us in Building 2 during library hours
  • Call us during library hours at: 252-789-0238
  • E-mail us during library hours at: mcclibrary.help@martincc.edu
  • Use the chat box at the bottom of this page after hours.  (Chat is available Mon. - Fri. 5 pm to 8 am & Sat. and Sun. 8 am to midnight.)

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday:  8 am - 7 pm

Friday:  8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Closed Saturday & Sunday

(Hours vary during breaks, holidays and summer semester.)

Useful Web Sites

Local Organizations

State Organizations

National Organizations

Chat Help

 

Library closed?  No problem.  You can chat with a librarian for help with searching for books in the online library catalog,  NCLive or other databases, citations, or other research questions.

Chat is available:

Monday - Friday:  5:00 pm - 8:00 am

Saturday & Sunday:  8:00 am - midnight