Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Martin Community College Local History Room
The Local History Room contains:
- The Easter Rogerson Mizell Family Genealogy Collection
- Books about Martin County history and the history of surrounding counties
- Narratives about and photographs of historic buildings in Martin County
- Books about North Carolina history
- The Martin Community College Archives (click College Archives tab for catalog)
- Historical copies of Our State magazine (formerly The State), Confederate Veteran magazine and Civil War Times Illustrated magazine (see link to Our State archive index below.)
- Microfilm collection (see below for microfilm catalog)
Easter Rogerson Mizell Family Genealogy Collection
The Easter Rogerson Mizell Family Collection is a genealogy and local history collection compiled by the late Easter Rogerson Mizell and donated to Martin Community College by her children, pictured left to right, Vivian M. Roberson, Donald Gray Mizelle, and Marla M. Coleman. The collection, which contains a wealth of information about local families and Martin County history, is available for use by the public during regular library hours.
Databases Available in the Martin Community College Library
Patrons interested in local history and genealogy may access the following databases in the Martin Community College Library through NC Live:
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection - digitized and searchable pages of hundreds of local North Carolina newspapers from the 1700s into the 1900s
- HeritageQuest - database containing historical census records, Revolutionary War records and other genealogical material
- DigitalNC.org - database available on the open Internet which contains North Carolina newspapers, yearbooks, city directories, etc.
Historical Records and Newspapers on Microfilm and Online
Microfilm available in the Martin Community College Library includes:
- The Enterprise newspaper from 1901 to the present. The 1901 through 1942 editions of the paper (with the exception of 1916 and 1920) are also available online at:
- Historical deeds, wills, marriage records, and census records from Martin County and nearby counties. See the catalog below:
Many historical newspapers, guides to microfilm and other digital artifacts are available online. See:
The Bertie County Public Library in Windsor has archives of the following:
- The Windsor Ledger on microfilm (1887 - 1915)
- The Bertie Ledger on microfilm (1928 - 1986 & 2000)
- The Bertie Ledger on CD ROM (2004 - 2006)
Francis Manning Collection
The Francis Manning local history collection, owned by the Martin County Historical Society, and housed at Martin Community College from 1985 until 2017, is now located at the Asa Biggs House in Williamston (100 E. Church St.).