LibGuides: Library: Databases

Alphabetical Listing of Databases at Martin

When using databases off campus your password is your myMartin login or your 7-digit student ID number (from your class schedule) followed by the letters MR. (If you only have 6 digits, add a zero in front.) If you need help, call the library at 252-789-0238.

Academic OneFile
A large database covering a wide range of subjects.
Anatomy TV
Anatomy TV contains 3D pictures that allow students to layer body systems and look at them from all sides. Also contained are lessons, quizzes and videos.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Provides birth/death dates and a list of citations of sources containing information about 6 million+ people.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books covering topics such as business, literature, science, history and religion.
Dogwood Digital Library (OverDrive) via the Libby App
Borrow thousands of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and e-audiobooks through Dogwood Digital Library, a shared collection of items from a consortium of North Carolina community college libraries. These items may be downloaded to most computers and mobile devices. You must create an account, download the Libby app, and log in to borrow books.
Gale Databases Home Page
A collection of 52 databases covering a wide range of subjects.
NC Live
NC Live is a collection of over 80 databases covering a wide range of subjects. Click on Browse All or the Subjects button to choose a database in your area of interest.
Nexis Uni
Nexi Uni is a powerful database containing legal and business information.
Omnigraphics Sourcebooks
Omnigraphics Sourcebooks are up-to-date reference books about diseases and disorders.
Open Access Journals
North Carolina State University has compiled a great collection of open access (free to everyone) journals.
ProQuest Central
A large database covering a wide range of subjects.
R2 Digital Library
A collection of almost 9,000 ebooks on health and medicine topics, including 86 titles on veterinary medicine.
Salem Press eBooks
Salem Press reference books are available in both ebook and print in the MCC Library.
Slavery in America and the World: History Culture & the Law
This database contains full text ebooks, statutes, judicial cases, periodicals and other documents related to slavery. (The Scholarly Articles section is citation only; full text is not available on that section.)
Stat!Ref
STAT!Ref includes full-text nursing and allied health ebooks such as Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses, ICD-10-CM: Clinical Modification, Diseases and Disorders, PharmPrep, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, and many more. On the Stat!Ref home page, click on the Stat!Ref box for the links to ebooks.

State Library Databases Available!

By obtaining a library card from the North Carolina State Library, you can access a variety of databases not included in Martin's collection, such as BioOne, JSTOR, and NewsBank. You will need to fill out the online application (link below) and submit a scan of your driver's license. You can scan your license in the library. The State Library will send you your library card number (which will be your database login) in an e-mail. The link to the State Library databases is also below.

State Library Card Application Instructions
(Be sure to include a scan of your driver's license.)
State Library Database Login

Omnigraphics books

Adolescent Health Sourcebook, 5th Edition

Find eBooks in the Library

Use the links below for the most direct route to ebooks in the Martin Community College Library. (Using the search box in the middle of the library's home page will yield ebook results, but they cannot be easily separated from print book results, and most of our ebooks are NOT searchable through the library catalog to the left.)

Fiction

We have three ebook collections that include fiction. They allow downloading to phones, tablets and laptops. Two of them also include audiobooks.

Homegrown eBooks
Homegrown eBooks is a collection from North Carolina publishers included in the NC Live group of databases.
Hoopla
You must create an account and log in before checking out books on Hoopla. Books check out for three weeks. Hoopla includes both ebooks and audiobooks.
Dogwood Digital Library (OverDrive) via the Libby App

Borrow thousands of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and e-audiobooks through Dogwood Digital Library, a shared collection of items from a consortium of North Carolina community college libraries. These items may be downloaded to most computers and mobile devices. You must create an account, download the Libby app to your mobile device, and log in using your library card to borrow books. If you don't have a library card, contact the library. You should always sign in to Libby using your library card, not your MyMartin login. The MyMartin login only authenticates you as a Martin user. It will not sync you with your individual account on the Libby app.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks contains 25 reference books on a variety of topics, including the new Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.

Gale eBooks

NC Live eBooks

NC Live has eleven databases containing ebook collections. From the NC Live ebook home page, you can search all ebook collections at once using the ebook search box. You can also scroll down and explore each collection separately.

Search all NC Live eBooks

Omnigraphics Sourcebooks

Omnigraphics Sourcebooks are reference books about diseases and disorders. You must create an account to save articles and create citations.

Omnigraphics Sourcebooks

R2 Digital Library

R2 Digital Library is a collection of medical and allied health ebooks.

R2 Digital Library

Salem Press eBook Collection

Salem Press reference books are available in both print and ebook editions in the Martin CC Library.

Stat!Ref eBook Collection

Stat!Ref is a collection of nursing and allied health ebooks. Click on the Stat!Ref box for access.

Stat!Ref eBook Collection