Martin Community College Library
Building 2, will be closed for Thanksgiving break
Monday through Thursday: 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM to 2:30 PM
STUDENTS: FOR TUTORING - PLEASE CALL 252.789.0238 FOR MORE DETAILS
Popular links:
Health and Medicine (Gale): https://login.proxy104.nclive.org/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/HRCA?u=nclivemarcc
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Business Insights (Gale): https://login.proxy104.nclive.org/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/GBIB?u=nclivemarcc
With over 460,000 company profiles, including 2,000 with deep links to related content and statistical data, Gale Business Insights: Global provides daily updates to keep up with the ever-changing corporate landscape. Includes: Profiles of every U.N. recognized country including 90+ Economist Intelligence Unit reports; SWOT reports (quarterly updates), GlobalData industry research reports; Plunkett industry reports; market share and business rankings; company histories and chronologies; global company, country, and business topic overviews with quick links; full-text articles; case studies; business executive video interviews; interactive LiveCharts; and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale): https://login.proxy104.nclive.org/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/OVIC?u=nclivemarcc
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Literature Resource Center (Gale): https://login.proxy104.nclive.org/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/LitRC?u=nclivemarcc Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their own literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. The database features primary works in a variety of genres, up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews that encourage interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
Mon - Thurs: 8 am - 7 pm
Fri: 8 am - 2:30 pm
Sat & Sun: Closed
Hours vary during holidays and breaks.
* The Research Companion has short videos about narrowing a topic, avoiding plagiarism, doing citations, and other writing topics. It also contains the Revision Aid, which allows you to upload a paper and highlights certain problems in your writing. Click on Use Information for the Revision Aid. (For spelling and basic grammar issues, use spellcheck in Word instead.)
Our Mission: The purpose of the Learning Resources Center (Library) is to support the Philosophy, Mission, and Goals of Martin Community College and to enhance the teaching/learning process through provision of adequate, current resource collections in formats consistent with prevailing technologies; provision of access to the collections of other libraries; provision of instruction in the use of resources to enable patrons to function in an information-driven society; and promotion of life-long learning opportunities.
Search everything available through the library
(opens in new window)
OR
Search just the Martin Library shelves using the
(you can also expand your search to other community college libraries)
_75%20dpi.jpg)
After-hours Chat is available:
Monday - Friday: 5:00 pm to 8:00 am
Saturday & Sunday 8 am - midnight
Get help from a librarian with finding journal articles and ebooks, creating citations and other research needs.
|
The MCC Library serves the student body, faculty, and staff of the college and the citizens of Martin and Bertie counties. Twenty-three public access computers are available for library visitors. Collections in the Library include over 15,500 books and about 2,000 audiovisual items, primarily audio books and DVDs. Special collections include:
Online sources include:
|
ATTENTION BOOK CLUBBERS!
Martin Community College Book Club will be discussing
"Weyward" by Emilia Hart
Please join us Wednesday, November 20th at noon here in the Library.
We are open to the public!!
Need a quiet place to study or a place to meet for a group project? Our student study rooms in the library are equipped with a computer and internet access, Microsoft Office, with printing capability.
Please see the Admissions department, this department works with students regarding assistive devices e.g.
Call us during library hours at: 252-789-0238