LibGuides: History Resources in the Library: Find History Resources

History Databases at Martin

Your login for databases when off campus is your Martin e-mail.

Archive Grid
Access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.
Credo Reference History eBooks
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Digital NC
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete
This is a huge ebook library containing thousands of ebooks about many subjects, including history. [MCC's collection also includes the community college collection College Complete.]
Gale eBooks
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Gale In Context: Biography
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
Gale In Context: World History
Academic articles, videos, case studies, and more on topics in world history
Gale OneFile: U.S. History
Academic articles, videos, primary documents, and more on topics in U.S. history
Gale OneFile: World History
Well-rounded coverage of current thinking and scholarly work.
HeritageQuest
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
Historic North Carolina Newspaper Collection
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
History Study Center
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
NCPedia
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
Slavery in America and the World: History Culture & the Law
This database contains full text ebooks, statutes, judicial cases, periodicals and other documents related to slavery. (The Scholarly Articles section is citation only; if you need one of the scholarly articles, contact the library to obtain it through interlibrary loan.)

All database descriptions are from nclive.org except: the three Gale history databases, which are from https://www-galepages-com.proxy104.nclive.org/nclivemarcc , and the slavery database and eBook Central, whose descriptions were compiled by library staff.

Declaration of Independence by John Trumbull (public domain)

Search Everything

Search everything available through the library

(opens in new window)

Finding Scholarly Articles in the Library

Search the Library Shelves

Find print books and DVDs using the

Library Catalog

You can also expand your search to other community college libraries by changing the dropdown from Martin Library to CCLINC Libraries.

State Library Databases Available!

By obtaining a library card from the North Carolina State Library, you can access a variety of databases not included in Martin's collection, such as BioOne, JSTOR, and NewsBank. You will need to fill out the online application (link below) and submit a scan of your driver's license. You can scan your license in the library. The State Library will send you your library card number (which will be your database login) in an e-mail. The link to the State Library databases is also below.

State Library Card Application Instructions
(Be sure to include a scan of your driver's license.)
State Library Database Login

Get Help from the Library

Visit us in Building 2 during library hours
Call us during library hours at: 252-789-0238
E-mail us at: library@martincc.edu (We try to respond within 2 hours when the library is open.)
Video chat with an MCC librarian during library hours. Call or e-mail us for an appointment. We can usually help you right away.
Use the chat box in the middle of the library home page after hours. (Chat is available Mon. - Fri. 5 pm to 8 am & Sat. and Sun. 8 am to midnight.)

Online tutoring is available for Martin CC students.

For more information on tutoring at Martin, click here.