Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Weekends: Closed
Hours vary during summer sessions and between semesters.
Welcome to the research guide for the Medical Assisting program. This guide is designed to help you conduct research for all your writing assignments in your classes. It includes links to scholarly medical databases, links to helpful websites, video tutorials on using the library's online catalog, and more.
Library orientation
Medical Assistant links
How to pronounce medical terms
https://www.merckmanuals.com/home/pronunciations
Drug information portal
(search: pubchem)
https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/ja22/ja22_pubchem.html
Visible human
Cryosectioning of bodies donated to science
https://www.nlm.nih.gov
(search: visible human)
https://www.nlm.nih.gov/research/visible/visible_human.html
Bloodborne pathogens
(search: bloodborne pathogens)
https://www.osha.gov/sites/default/files/publications/bbfact01.pdf
American Association of Medical Assistants
Medline Plus
Health encyclopedia
Medical tests
PubMed
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
(Search: pubmed)
Biomedical literature
The Columbia-Greene Community College Library offers free digital subscriptions to The New York Times. Anyone with a valid C-GCC e-mail address (students, faculty, and staff) can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and smartphone apps. For instructions on activating your account, read the text below or watch the video at the bottom right corner of this page.
Once you have activated your Academic Pass, you should have full access for 52 weeks (364 days) with no further action on your part. If you see a message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, you’re probably not logged in. Simply log back in.
Please take advantage of this fantastic offer. If you have questions, contact the Library at 518-697-6390, or email at reference@sunycgcc.edu.
Your Academic Pass includes access to the NYTimes smartphone apps. Once you have activated your Pass, you can access nytimes.com on most web-capable devices.
To cancel a personal subscription, call 1-800-NYTIMES (698-4637). There may be other things you have to do, depending on the device you have been using to read the Times.
C-GCC Library now offers students, staff, and faculty complimentary access to The Wall Street Journal online.
WSJ.com and the WSJ Mobile App deliver all the world-class reporting you need to stay ahead. From today’s paper to the latest news, you receive the Journal in full with enhanced features that give you a unique visual storytelling experience.
Please take advantage of this fantastic offer. If you have additional questions, contact the library at 518-697-6390 or by email at reference@sunycgcc.edu.
Membership Questions
If someone is already paying for a membership or subscribing to the print edition, they can take advantage of the CGCC digital membership by first closing their account, then clicking on the link above. Users can find information about the refund policy in the Customer Center.
Students with activated memberships qualify for the WSJ Grad Pack, which offers a discounted graduate rate that continues two years after graduation. Students will receive an automated email upon graduation from WSJ inviting them to subscribe at those exclusive rates.
The WSJ membership includes unlimited digital access to WSJ.com and the WSJ apps. Members can also access curated newsletters, podcasts and exclusive events/offers through WSJ+.
Students have access to the full suite of WSJ products, but can find student-centric content in several places: The Student Hub provides a place for students to find curated content focused on job preparation, finance tips, career insights and expert advice; The student home page, at education.wsj.com/students, shares links to new opportunities from WSJ. This includes opportunities to have their work published on WSJ.com, relevant podcasts and newsletters and updates about when WSJ will be at their campus.
Professors can incorporate WSJ content into their courses by taking advantage of WSJ Context, a tool for instructors to easily create and share reading lists with their students. In-depth instructions of how to use WSJ Context are provided to the college's main contact as a part of the professor resources in the WSJ Media Pack.
The WSJ digital archives on the wsj.com go back four years on a rolling basis.
All items in our catalog have a call number on them (PZ4 .A13 2007). Others may have other letters in front of the letters that begin a call number. Here's what they mean:
The following video will teach you how to search for print and electronic books using Primo, the library's online catalog.
One feature of Primo, the CGCC Library's online catalog, is that you can virtually browse the book stacks. Watch the brief video tutorial to learn more.
Primo, the C-GCC catalog is a powerful tool to quickly locate the items you need for your research. In addition to locating scholarly articles, every book, DVD or audiobook owned by the library is in the catalog, and every item in the catalog has a record.
If you want to search for items owned by the library, type your term(s) in the search box. A dropdown menu will appear with search options. Select Library Catalog. You can narrow the results further. Under Refine Your Results, click Held by Library.
If you are searching for a specific title, type the title name in quotation marks and click Library Catalog from the dropdown menu.
If you are looking for a book by, for example, John Steinbeck, type in their name and click Library Catalog from the dropdown menu. You can narrow the results further. Under Refine Your Results, click Author/Creator. You should see your author's name and the number of results available. Click on the author's name.
If you're interested in books about John Steinbeck, follow the same steps as above, but under Refine Your Results, click Subject. Select Biographies or Criticism Interpretation, or another subject. You can check each box next to the item and select as many options as you like.
If you're searching for a DVD, or audiobook, click on the Advanced Search feature. Under Material Type, select Sound Recordings for audiobooks, or Video/Film for DVDs.
Scholarly articles. Peer-reviewed articles. Professional articles. Academic articles. During your college days, you will hear professors use these terms. Are they different? No. They're different terms for the same thing. Where do you find these? Databases!
Scholarly Journals promote scholarship and research. They report on academic study in a subject, are written and reviewed by experts, and provide references. The quality of scholarly publications rests on a board of experts, or peers, who review article submissions and determine what is published in their journal. Most established journals are careful about quality control, but there have been some recent, for-profit publications that claim to be scholarly, but may not use a rigorous criteria for publication. Our database companies choose publications based on accuracy, authority, and reputation. If you conducting a regular Google search, this may be harder to determine.
Popular Magazines are intended for the general public. They entertain, sell advertising space, and promote a particular viewpoint. While magazines may not be appropriate for all research assignments, magazines and newspapers may be fine sources for many topic papers dealing with social phenomena or more current events. Always check your assignment to determine whether popular periodicals, magazines and newspapers, may be used.
Keep in mind that some bias may exist in articles from even the most authoritative journals, magazines, and newspapers, because authors write from a point of view. Different publications have different editorial policies that may lean towards a political or philosophical position. That doesn’t make the publication good or bad; rather it is important for the researcher to recognize where the bias lies, and to assess any information they encounter carefully.
This video explains how to use the library's subscription databases.
Peer-review, in its simplest terms, is when an expert reviews the research report of another expert.
Here's how it works in terms of journals that are available on library databases:
An expert or team of experts in a subject will conduct research. They will write about their research and conclusions. This process often includes descriptions of the research methods they used. The paper may also include a brief review of other articles on the subject, or a Literature Review. When the researcher(s) has finished their paper, they will submit to a journal that publishes new research in a subject. A Peer-Reviewed Journal is one where submissions are reviewed by a team of experts. These experts will review the paper, the conclusions, the sources used, and the research methods used (if applicable). If the reviewers find that the complete work meets or exceeds the standards for research in the field, and the findings result in new insights into the subject, the article will be published in the journal.
To use these databases from off-campus, when prompted, log in with your library-generated username and password, both of which are your last name and last four digits of your student ID (ramone1234, for example).
The databases listed below can be located on the library website's database page under the categories Health/Medical or Environment/Science. Nursing students may find databases under Behavioral Sciences/Psychology useful for certain research projects.
Think any source will do for your research project? You need good, credible sources. The video below explains why.
Click here to be taken to our interactive guide for evaluating Wikipedia entries.
When looking at a web site, ask yourself the following:
Is the author or organization identifiable?
Is there information on the author's or organization's background? (Check for an "About Us" tab on a site's homepage, or check the bottom of the page to see a site's host.)
Is there contact information (an email address, phone number, etc.) for the author?
Does the site cover a specific time period or aspect of a topic, or does it cover the topic in depth?
Based on your knowledge of the topic, what information is included or omitted?
Is it done or "under construction"?
To what domain (.edu, .gov, .org, .mil, .com) does it belong?
Is it linked to other reputable sites?
What is the site's purpose?
Based on your knowledge, is the information on the site factual, opinion, or propaganda?
Are there a lot of ads? Is the site trying to sell something?
Is the site well organized?
Is the site professional looking and well designed?
Are the images used to enhance, rather than impress?
Below are some videos that can help you plan your oral presentation and conquer your fear of public speaking.
Listed are some of the books the C-GCC library has on public speaking and giving presentations. To find more, click on the link at the bottom of this box. Use the search using the terms "public speaking" and select Library Catalog.
As We Speak: How to make your point and have it stick
by
A guide to public speaking and becoming a more effective communicator in all areas of your life.
A Student's Guide to Presentations: Making your presentation count
by
'A Student's Guide to Presentations' gives readers a detailed guide to the preparation and delivery of both individual and group presentations. It will take them through all the practical stages necessary to complete a presentation and obtain excellent marks. This title is also available as an ebook through the Ebsco Ebook Collection.
Talk Like TED: The 9 public speaking secrets of the world’s top minds
by
Analyzes hundreds of TED talks and includes interviews to reveal the nine secrets of all successful TED presentations. This title is also available as an audiobook (book on CD).
TED Talks: The official TED guide to public speaking
by
Done right, a talk is more powerful than anything in written form. This book explains how the miracle of powerful public speaking is achieved, and equips you to give it your best shot. There is no set formula; no two talks should be the same. The goal is for you to give the talk that only you can give.
The video below comes courtesy of the University of Louisville Writing Center.
Doing Honest Work in College: how to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success
by
explains the fundamentals of academic integrity in a clear, straightforward way and shows students how to apply them in all academic situations. It stands on three principles: do the work you say you do, give others credit, and present your research fairly.
Pocket Guide to APA Style, Spiral Bound Version
by
This title can be borrowed from the circulating collection or used in-house from the reference collection.
A Pocket Style Manual
by
"The eighth edition of A Pocket Style Manual covers everything you need for college writing - especially researched writing. New step-by-step advice applies to writing assignments in any course." This title is available in the reference and circulating collections.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
The authoritative source for writing papers and citing sources in APA style. We have copies to borrow, and for in-house use in the reference collection on the first floor.
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers
by
This in-depth guide to the process of writing research papers includes chapters on citations. This title can be borrowed.
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper
by
"This primer explains how to write clear, compelling, well-organized research papers. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision--each step is broken down and illustrated with examples."
You must cite anything that you use in your research, even if it isn't a book, article, web site, or article from a database. If you use any of the following in your research, cite them as well.
