Skip to main content

Library: Faculty & Staff

OER: Open Educational Resources

This guide contains a wealth of information about OER and links to all kinds of OER resources.

Meeting Room Reservations

Use the link below to check availability in the library's three meeting rooms and then call the library, or e-mail Mary Anne Caudle or Pam Perry, to reserve a room.  Click on an event to find the room.  The main conference room bookings are designated LRC, the Instruction Lab bookings LAB, and Local History Room (old conference room) bookings are designated LHR.  Please also remember to call us if your meeting is canceled.

Study Room Reservations

The group study rooms in the library are available for faculty and staff, as well as students.  This is a great place for adjuncts without offices to meet with students.  The rooms accommodate five to six people and have a computer with Internet access, Microsoft Office, and printing capability.  Call the library, or e-mail Mary Anne Caudle or Pam Perry to reserve.

Interlibrary Loan

Martin faculty, staff and students have access to books from 50 other community colleges through our shared library catalog.  For instructions on requesting books from other community colleges, click the Interlibrary Loan link below.

The Martin Community College Library also has an interlibrary loan agreement with ECU.  If you need a book or article that is not in our community college shared catalog, let the library know and we can often obtain it for you from ECU. (Martin faculty, staff  and students may also visit ECU's Joyner Library and set up a library account there by showing their current Martin ID card. See the link below for more information about borrowing privileges and other services at Joyner Library.)

You may be familiar with the public domain collections in Internet Archive.  They now also have a lending program for electronic books that are still in copyright.  You can create a free account and borrow books electronically for 14 days.

Direct Article Links in Moodle

Having trouble placing direct links to articles or other e-resources from our databases into Moodle?  Read the instructions below, or watch the two 2-minute video tutorials. 

Below is the library's proxy prefix to be added in front of permanent links to articles, ebooks and films if the database does not add it for you. 

https://login.proxy104.nclive.org/login?url=

Understanding Permanent Links and the Proxy Prefix

Finding Permanent Links in Databases

Database Password Reminder

The password for off campus access to all databases at Martin is your myMartin login (Martin e-mail) or your 7-digit Datatel/Colleague number followed by the letters MR.  Call the library at extension 238 if you need assistance.

Get Help from the Library

  • Library Director: Mary Anne Caudle, Ext. 280
  • Library Assistant: Pam Perry, Ext. 230
  • Visit us in Building 2 during library hours
  • Call us during library hours at: 252-789-0238
  • E-mail us during library hours at: library@martincc.edu
  • Use the chat box on the library's home page after hours.  (Chat is available Mon. - Fri. 5 pm to 8 am & Sat. and Sun. 8 am to midnight.)
  • Students (and faculty) may video chat with a librarian in the Library Virtual Office in Moodle.  (Mon. - Thurs. 11:00 am to 6:00 pm and Fri. 9:00 am to 12:00 pm & 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm excluding holidays and breaks.)  Direct link to the virtual office:

Library Instruction

The Library Director is happy to do a library instruction session for your class. This can be a standard orientation about library resources or a session tailored to a specific assignment. To schedule a session, call or e-mail Mary Anne.

An online library orientation for distance education classes is available at the link below or by clicking the Online Library Orientation tab under the Quick Links on the library's home page.  If you wish your students to use the quiz included in the orientation, please request the answer key from the Library Director.

Library Purchase Requests

The library welcomes suggestions of items to be added to the collection.  Please e-mail Mary Anne.  Include the title, author, and date of publication or other relevant information in your e-mail.  The Library Director is also happy to meet with you concerning more extensive updates to your subject area in the library collection.

(Purchase decisions may depend upon budget and library needs.)

State Library Databases Available!

By obtaining a library card from the North Carolina State Library, you can access a variety of databases not included in Martin's collection, such as BioOne, JSTOR, and NewsBank.