Skip to main content

Online Library Orientation: Using Databases

Using Databases Off Campus

You can search everything the library owns or subscribes to, including databases, using the search box in the middle of the library's home page.  You can access individual databases on the Databases tab of the library's web site.  When you use any database off campus, you will be asked for your BlackBoard login or library card number (your ID number from your schedule followed by MR).  If you need help, call the library at 252-789-0238.

NC Live

NC Live logo

NC LIVE is a collection of over 80 databases covering many topics.  For a database covering a broad range of subjects, go to NC Live, click on Browse All and scroll down to ProQuest Central.  You can also access ProQuest Central through the Quick Links on the library's home page.

Gale Databases

This is a collection of 52 databases that cover a wide range of topics.  For a large database that covers many subjects, click on the Gale logo and choose Academic OneFile.

Gale Databases Banner

STAT!Ref

Logo reads Stat! Ref the premier healthcare e-source

STAT!Ref includes full-text nursing and allied health ebooks such as Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses, ICD-10-CM, Nurse's Pocket Guide, PharmPrep, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, and many more.

HeinOnline

Database Tutorial

Credo Reference

Credo Reference logo

Credo Reference is an online collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books covering topics such as business, literature, science, history and religion.

Find eBooks in the Library

Use the links below for the most direct route to ebooks in the Martin Community College Library.  (Using the search box in the middle of the library's home page will yield ebook results, but they cannot be easily separated from print book results, and most of our ebooks are NOT searchable through the library catalog to the left.)

Fiction

We have two ebook collections that include fiction.  Both allow downloading to your ipad or iphone, Android device or Kindle.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library contains 25 reference books on a variety of topics, including the new Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.

NC Live eBook Collection

NC Live has eight ebook collections. From the NC Live ebook home page, you can search all eight collections at once using the ebook search box (not the main NC Live search box at the top).  You can also scroll down and explore each collection separately.

Salem Press eBook Collection

Salem Press reference books are available in both print and ebook editions in the Martin CC Library.

Stat!Ref eBook Collection

Stat!Ref is a collection of nursing and allied health ebooks.

Miscellaneous eBooks